Canoe Marathon


Malcolm Stothard Chairman
Peter Cole WCCU marathon chair
Bruce Clark GCU marathon chair
Waldo Van Der Linde CDCU marathon chair
Jenna Ward KNCU marathon chair
Gary Atkinson ECCU marathon chair
Colin Simpkins CSA Representative

Marathon racing is the most popular discipline in South African canoeing, and a vibrant calendar of events takes advantage of the many excellent paddling rivers and flat-water courses across the country.

The domestic river season starts with the Berg River Marathon, a 4 day odyssey in the Cape winter from Paarl to Velddrif, followed by the Breede Marathon, Lowveld Croc, Hansa Fish, and Vaal Challenge marathons.

In the summer season the major races switch to KwaZulu-Natal for the Umzinyathi 50 Miler and peaking at the Dusi Marathon, which remains the biggest race on the calendar. The Umkomaas marathon is arguably the roughest water raced in K1s and K2s anywhere in the world, and the river season winds down with Non-Stop Dusi, the N3TC Drak Challenge and Tugela Marathons.

The Flatwater Marathon Championships and SA Team selection take place in May/June ahead of the major world events in August to October.

Flatwater marathon racing is a highly tactical discipline that takes place in a lap format, with a portage at the end of every lap. Different distances are raced depending on age category and sex of participants.

South African Marathon Championship distances:
Junior Men: 5 Laps, 21km
Junior Women: 4 laps, 17km
Senior and U23 Men:  7 laps, 30km
Senior and U23 Women: 6 laps, 25km.

Ant Stott (KNCU)
Enslin Van Riet (WCCU)
Peter O’Connor (GCU)